iPad: stuck between paradigms?

Just purchased a shiny new iPad, in the 32-GB wifi variety. So far, it’s been a joy to use. Browsing is great, and I think the email client will be super helpful for productivity. (although the longstanding complaint about having to descend into subfolders and mail accounts and update is still applicable.)

I don’t think I’ll be able to post a comprehensive review of the kind at Ars Technica (link coming). The one thing I’ll point out is that typing on the on-screen keyboard is not too bad– this post was composed using the WordPress universal app, for example, and the speed of composition was limited by my mental speed of composition, not my flitting fingers.

The one tricky thing seems to me is the ability to move data/content/information between applications, and the lack of a repository for files. Especially without the ability to multitasking, it’s vitally important to be able to cut-and-paste in a way that would replicate the intuitive dragging in Mac OS X.

In this app, for example, it seems that pasting is disabled (!), which makes no sense to me. Maybe it’s because the word press app would know how to deal with copied pictures or something.

I suppose this is a complaint, fundamentally, that the iPad offers slick-looking applications that appear so promising, but aren’t running on a general-purpose computer. We’ll see if my growing experience or the new os update coming on thursday addresses any of these issues.

Leave a Reply

